Posted by: ThePseudotarian | March 22, 2011

Guacamole and la cucina!

Good morning!

I know I’ve been yapping my head off for months about the new house and the next kitchen. We’re almost in, I just have a million things to paint. I’m hoping that we’re in and functional by this Sunday so that we can start inviting good friends over on Sundays for HBO specials (and potentially dinner if I can convince everyone to eat my cooking) and cookouts and music-playing on Wednesdays.

Either way, I’m so excited for you to see the before and after of my apartment kitchen vs my new fancy kitchen.

Though, I don’t want to leave you without some yummy goodness, so here is a quick “recipe” for my favorite guacamole and a quick tip. Don’t judge people – work owns my life again! I don’t even have time to bold half the copy in this post like usual!

Guacamole

2 avocados
1/2 cup yellow corn
1/2 cup raw tomato, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
Crushed red pepper flakes

salt

Scoop avocado from skins and place into a good-sized bowl and chop roughly with a knife into approximately 1-inch cubes. Add garlic to the bowl and mash the two lightly with a fork. You don’t want to turn these into mush, just break up the chunks a little bit. This is not a goopy guac’, it’s a loose, chunky, wants to get into your pants guac.

I’m sorry, I’m tired.

Stir in the corn and tomatoes along with salt and crushed red pepper flakes to taste. I recommend any kind of “scooping” chip, but hey – who am I to tell you what to do?

Also a quick tip:

I don’t like bacon. I don’t miss it, I don’t care about it, I didn’t eat it when I ate meat anyway. What I DO miss is the smoky flavor that comes from using it in other dishes. I believe I’ve found a WONDERFUL alternative …

Smoked Sun Dried Tomatoes.

Try them. Love them. Come back and thank me and give me your firstborn. Or a puppy. Your call.

Responses

  1. Though your recipe doesn’t provide a picture, I recon it’s delicious due to the ingredients you are using. Interesting recipe.
    For more inspiring recipes, check at:
    http://www.fourgreensteps.com/community/recipes
    Hope you find recipes that interest you!

    • And I would LOVE to have pictures. I keep promising them, but my current kitchen is so poorly lit and I’ve been in such a transition with moving for a while now that I haven’t been able to include them! One of my summer projects is to re-photograph my recipes and update all the past ones. Thanks for commenting! Also – Four Green Steps looks amazing – thank you so much for sharing!


Leave a Reply

Categories

