Posted by: ThePseudotarian | March 2, 2011

A simple sandwich

Ok, short post for a busy, busy week edition!

I don’t know about you, but when I have a craving for something … I am insatiable. For example, when I’m stressed out or really upset, or even just not feeling good, I want macaroni and cheese. Even salty fake macaroni and cheese. I just want gooey goodness in a bowl sprinkled with smoked paprika and crushed red pepper. Nothing gets between me and my awful mac and cheese habit (much to my scale’s chagrin – but I’m working on that! More on that next month).

Or the other day I was craving fish. I left my apartment at 10 pm just to find a filet of tilapia. I’m telling you, when I think I need something, it consumes my brain.

So why am I talking about intense, undeniable cravings in the context of “a simple sandwich?” Well, because for a week or so, all I’ve wanted out of life was, simply, the best sandwich ever.

Tall order, I know.

Last night after a long day of only eating an English Muffin toasted with goat cheese, this recipe/idea sure came freaking close.

Also, sorry for the short post. I’m ridiculously busy, but wanted to keep on keepin’ on with my regular posting. But who knows, maybe you like short posts  =)

Meredith’s World Endingly Delicious Sandwich (or something like that)

1 whole wheat English Muffin
1-2 slices of a good melting cheese, I used swiss, but mozzarella, gruyere, american or thinly sliced gouda could also work
1/2 avocado, sliced
1 handful baby spinach
1 handful smoked sun dried tomatoes, chopped
1 egg

Condiment of choice – I used Dijon Mustard

Like I said, this isn’t much of a recipe, but rather an idea.

  1. Spread your condiment of choice on the bottom slice of the muffin. Layer cheese on top of that side (or both if you want), and place in a toaster or under the broiler in the oven until just melted and bubbly.
  2. While the cheese is melting, blanch or steam your spinach just until wilted. Shock under cold water and drain.
  3. Fry or poach your egg, but try to leave the yolk runny =)
  4. When the muffin is ready, it’s time for assembly! On the bottom slice, layer the chopped sun dried tomatoes, spinach and avocado. The order is up to you, but I found that this order stacked neatly with less chance of toppling.
  5. At this point, make sure that the sandwich is on the plate you’re going to use. Not crucial, but important if you want yummy yolk to dip the sandwich in. Slide your poached or fried egg on top of the sandwich, take the top of the muffin, and press it lightly down on top. The egg will break and yolk with drizzle down into the crevasses of this magnificent creation and onto the plate.
  6. Grab plenty of paper towels, since this one is messy!
  7. Most of all: enjoy!

Try it. Love it. Add meat to it if you’re a carnivore … or sub Daiya if you’re vegan. You know what, just add or sub whatever you want. Just keep the basics  =) I had this with a small spinach salad and it was perfect! I always forget how delicious English Muffins are with their little nooks and crannies.

Leave a Reply

Categories

