Posted by: ThePseudotarian | November 18, 2010

I just made butter, y’all

Ok, ya’ll. I have to apologize in advance for this post because I am FREAKING OUT. I’m about to go totally food nerd, and if you can’t take it, I’m sorry.

Last night … I totally made my own butter. I’d heard from so many people that it was incredibly easy and only took one ingredient.  Also, this took me back to kindergarten. Remember when our teachers made us shake plastic containers full of cream? Well, I did the adult version.

All you need is..

A plastic or glass container with an airtight lid (plastic might be safer …)
Heavy Cream

You decide the amount, but make sure there is enough room at the top of your container, at least an inch or two. Then start shaking! Don’t be afraid to open it to check on the consistency, but make sure the liquid has settled before you do, or you’ll end up with cream on your hands that your dog will hound you for (pun totally intended).

You’ll notice the cream thickening up and eventually taking on the consistency of miracle whip. Stop here if you want whipped cream, or keep going a little bit longer. I know it might feel like it’s been an eternity, but I promise that it’s worth it. Eventually (and this is why I recommend clear plastic or glass), you’ll see that thick goopy mess break into liquid. Shake a few more times, open up and VOILA! Freakin’ butter!

Here’s the tricky part. You need to wash it, because buttermilk will cause the butter to go rancid much more quickly than you can probably eat it. Use a cheesecloth or fine mesh sieve, and wash the butter under cold water, turning it over and over and kneading a bit until the water runs clear.

Trust me, it’s way better than anything you’ll find at the grocery store … and you can use the buttermilk for baking biscuits or pancakes  =)

Leave a Reply

Categories

