Posted by: ThePseudotarian | November 11, 2010

Lemon Poppyseed Pancakes

Ooo … you know what I haven’t really posted yet? Breakfast! Which is odd, since I absolutely love all things breakfast. However, it may have something to do with the fact that Monday through Friday, I skip breakfast. I shouldn’t, I know, but I’m a huge fan of sleeping. Plus, I still haven’t adjusted entirely to getting up for my 8:30 am arrival time at work. I make it to work on time, but my morning routine doesn’t any time for breakfast, and yes, I have tried bringing it with me … doesn’t work either  =)

So breakfasts have become a weekend thing, which is actually kind of nice. They’re something we can look forward to on Saturdays, most often in the afternoon after we’ve finished waking up and while we’re doing our weekly cleaning of el apartamento. It’s slowly becoming a ritual actually, one that prompted me to go out and buy my first box of Bisquick in over 4 years. Ok, don’t judge, I should have made my own pancake batter, I really should have. However, Matt and I were both up very late (per the usual) on Friday, and I didn’t want to undertake a big baking extravaganza. For this, I just needed bisquick, eggs and milk.

I have a really weird soft spot for pancakes. My dad and I used to cook them together all the time when I was growing up. I remember when Bisquick’s recipe changed, and we debated for weeks over which way we liked better. When they changed it back, we started adding a bit of sugar and vanilla until we decided that we did, indeed, prefer the original recipe. As I got older, I spent countless hours trying to make the perfect pancake with the smoothest lightly-browned crust. We spent so much time making pancakes, that now when I go out to brunch, I can’t bring myself to order them because they will never, ever be as good as ours. Plus, I get realllllly sick of restaurant pancakes after only 3 or 4 bites. Like I said, never quite as good.

This weekend, it was totally back to pursuing that perfect pancake while Matt made hash browns and scrambled eggs. Except, I had to get a bit creative …  (Dad, I still think you’d love these …)

Lemon Poppyseed Pancakes

1 cup Bisquick Mix (original)
1/2 cup milk
1 egg
2 tablespoons lemon juice (or 1 lemon)
2 tablespoons poppy seeds

100% Real Maple Syrup (skip the high fructose stuff)

This is really pretty simple, but I’ll go through the process anyway! Combine your mix, milk and egg and blend together until smooth. Break up any large chunks of dry mix. Next, blend in your lemon juice and poppy seeds and taste-test to make sure that your mix has just enough lemon juice for a bit of tang. You don’t want your pancakes to taste only like lemon. The best made ones just have a hint. Next time, I really want to use some zest as garnish or within the mix itself though.

Heat your griddle or pan over medium high heat. I have a non-stick pan, so I didn’t use any oil, cooking spray or butter, since I can’t stand soggy, greasy pancakes. When I could feel the heat coming off the pan when I held my hand about 4 inches from the surface, I knew we were ready to go! To pour the batter, I used a 1/2 cup plastic measuring scoop, and poured the batter in a straight line to pool up in the pan to form a rough circle.

I never time my pancakes, but judge the doneness when the edges of the batter dry up and begin to pull up at the sides. Perfection! This is, of course, all up to you. Remember, I’ve been trying for 20 years to reach the pinnacle of pancake mastery. Yea, ok, I’m lame.

Don’t forget to keep your oven a bit warm, especially if your making a double or larger batch of these so that you can keep them warm while you’re finishing up. Right before serving, pop your syrup in the microwave for 7 or 8 seconds to warm it up. This was a must in my family’s household, as no one really likes cold syrup on warm fluffy pancakes. Add a dollop of butter to each cake, and pour the hot syrup all over the cakes after they reach the table. Or coffeetable, especially for Sunday football watching!

I love these, I really do. They have such a subtle and wonderful taste, and the “pop” of the poppy seeds add a really pleasing texture to the fluffy cake consistency. Oh and I definitely recommend springing for the slightly-more-expensive 100% maple syrup. I’ve been a strong believer in avoiding high fructose corn syrup as much as possible, and more increasingly the more I learn. If you want to go the vegan route, substitute the milk for rice milk and use ground flax seeds mixed with water for egg.

I wanted to get this up now, because Thanksgiving is in TWO WEEKS. I want to post some pseudorecipes for anyone else heading home to try and convince the family that they are not, in fact, eating that damn bird. I have a sneaking suspicion my dad is going to try to sneak chicken broth into everything, but I’m bringing a few things of my own … =)

Leave a Reply

Categories

