Posted by: ThePseudotarian | April 28, 2010

Well hello there!

Do you remember those days of student-budget eating? You’re lucky if you don’t, or if you were smart enough to adopt a healthy living style during those college and post-grad days. My roommates used to eat packets of ramen topped with sriracha and I’d bring home Hamburger Helper,Velveeta and Hotpockets.

Fortunately, I’m farther and farther removed from those days of a tight student budget and my freaking crazy roommates. A little less than a year ago, I started dating a wonderful, also slightly crazy person who happened to be a vegetarian. Over time, I found myself eating less and less meat, and far less processed food (at that time, because most have meat in them) and Matt and I were cooking together quite often. Now that we live together, our kitchen is nearly entirely vegetarian. A few exceptions aside for the fish and shellfish I eat on occasion (hence the fake-word-name The Pseudotarian).

The more I learned about processed foods and the meat and corn industry, the more conscious I became of what I’m putting in my stomach. And the more blogs I read about natural and whole foods, the more I wanted to cook with them. And now, most processed food tastes like salty cardboard.

So here I am. I spend my downtime at work researching recipes by bloggers and chefs like Heidi at 101Cookbooks and Alice Waters of Chez Panisse. I’ve bookmarked and printed hundreds of things to try, and can’t wait to get started. I don’t like copying and pasting from other blogs, but if I adapt anything in my own kitchen from a blog I discovered, I will most certainly link to the original post  unless the author states on the blog that they’d prefer others don’t reproduce their recipes. Also, I will NOT simply reproduce the recipe. Instead, I will link to the blog where I found the recipe and discuss my changes. I don’t want to steal hard work and try to pass it off as my own =)

We’ll see where this takes us. Mostly good places I hope. Maybe some weird ones. OH! An FYI: I add wine to everything. In fact, I considered naming this blog The Winey Cook. If mac ‘n’ cheese isn’t safe from my wine-mongering … then neither are you …

Leave a Reply

Categories

